Council of Ministers of the State of Qatar

The State of Qatar is a country located in Western Asia, occupying the small Qatar Peninsula on the northeastern coast of the Arabian Peninsula. The Al Thani dynasty has been ruling Qatar since the family house was established in 1825. The eighth Emir of Qatar is Tamim bin Hamad Al Thani. The Emir has the exclusive power to appoint and remove the prime minister and cabinet ministers who, together, constitute the Council of Ministers, which is the supreme executive authority in the country. The Council of Ministers also initiates legislation. Laws and decrees proposed by the Council of Ministers are referred to the Advisory Council for discussion after which they are submitted to the Emir for ratification. Qatar is currently the subject of a diplomatic and economic embargo by Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates (UAE), Bahrain, and Egypt, which began in June 2017, greatly harming the credibility and prestige of the State.



Advancing the prestige of the state of Qatar and re-establishing diplomatic ties and increasing international trade and commerce in the state.

© La Martiniere Model United Nations Society